ADAS Recognised Prior Learning

An Acknowledgement for highly experienced individuals

combined years of experience
1 %
employment rate in 2018

An overview of Recognition of prior learning (standard and exceptional circumstances)

ADAS understands that there are many competent divers out in the workforce who are not ADAS certified and functioning quite happily. Those divers, for whatever reason (e.g. to comply with the law regarding construction diving, to improve their employment chances, etc) may at some point decide that they want an ADAS certificate. These divers may have been diving for years and have hundreds of dives under their belt and maybe thousands of hours in the water. For these reasons, ADAS has developed a Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) system which takes a divers previous training and experience into consideration.

Divers in these circumstances are not able to automatically receive an ADAS certification without going through the RPL process because:

ADAS has, in conjunction with its national industry advisors and its international partner certification organisations, put together a highly developed set of Diver Competence Standards. These standards cover all aspects of diver safety and basic procedures for each level of certification. ADAS is committed, through its agreements with its partners, to ensuring that each and every diver who receives an ADAS certificate has been assessed against those standards – whether by ADAS or one of its international partners.

There are a range of procedures in use throughout the industry, some good, some bad, some just different. ADAS is totally committed to ensuring that its standards are set at the level of world best practice and to continuously reviewing and improving those standards wherever possible. With a number of Accredited Training Establishments (ATEs) accredited to train ADAS divers, ADAS has developed a strict set of standard procedures which the ATEs must use to ensure consistency across the range of those schools. Every ADAS graduate should have the same set of base skills and knowledge for a given course. This is particularly important in the area of standby diver drills, diver rescue, and accident and emergency management. ADAS needs to ensure, for quality control, standardisation and liability reasons, that every diver that possesses an ADAS certificate has been assessed against this range of skills and knowledge.

ALL divers applying for ADAS certification MUST undertake a full practical and theory assessment of their skills and knowledge against the nominated ADAS Diver Competency Standards for that ADAS qualification. The only exception to this rule is for those divers crossing-over from an organisation with whom ADAS has a formal reciprocal recognition agreement (e.g. the UK Health and Safety Executive, the Diver Certification Board of Canada, etc). More information about crossing-over can be found on the International and Military Equivalents page of the website.

Feedback from a recent RPL EC Graduate

"A 100% RECOMMEND!!! A good school for all who wish to start up or further their career in the Commercial Diving Industries. All the trainer in CDA obtain a high level of experience and competency in ensuring all the students understand the importance of Diving not only in getting you certified but making you understand the importance of SAFETY. CDA has help me further understand on many aspects which i lack of before i enter the course, it has now assist me in many ways by doing it the right way in the safest way. Interesting, well managed and close to real word and life experiences."

Kudos & THUMBS UP to ALL staff in CDA!!!
Zainuddin Zulkfli
Ardent Global (Singapore)

Recognition Process for RPL and RPL EC

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is the acknowledgement of competencies obtained through formal training, work experience and life experience. RPL processes are available to all potential applicants and will be conducted in a manner fair to all parties involved. Through these processes ADAS and the Commercial Dive Academy will determine whether a person has already developed any of the skills and knowledge which would normally be acquired in a program of training. This gives applicants the opportunity to gain credentials without the duplication of learning effort.

Divers who can show formal logbook evidence of comprehensive relevant theoretical knowledge and workplace experience may claim up to a maximum of two weeks credit towards the normal training times specified for each level of training for which they are applying.

The maximum amount of credit is based on the assessment by ADAS that divers who have not undertaken formal diving training will not have been exposed to the required standard of training in safety-critical activities such as emergency procedures, rescues and risk assessment.

While the diver will be awarded credit (reduced training time) during the relevant period they must still undergo all assessments for the competencies relevant to the training.


Most frequent questions and answers

The Occupational Scuba to 30m qualification (part 1) is the first level of certification as a commercial diver. This course is a pre requisite for the next level course (part 2)

The part one course limits the diver to using hand tools or conducting inspections in no decompression dives with direct access to the surface. It is suitable for divers looking to work in, photography, media, inspection, and sciences.

The total cost of a part one and two RPL EC is $7000, the total cost of a part one, two and three RPL EC is $1000

  • You must be at least 18 years of age at the time of commencement
  • Hold a current diving medical (AS/NZS 2299.1)
  • Hold a recognised certificate of recreational diving (E.G PADI Open Water) 
  • Have at least 10 dives logged in the last 6 months
  • Hold a current First aid and 02 provider certification
  • Able to understand Written and verbal communication in English

All you have to do is click on enroll today or contact us.

Close Menu